Admission Alert, 2017 Presidency University. Kolkata

Presidency University Admissions 2017! Overview, Courses!


Presidency University : Overview, Courses and Facilities



Presidency University, Kolkata is a public state university located in Kolkata, West Bengal. It occupies a unique place in history as it was one of the Asia’s first institutes offering western-type education. With a large number of courses offered, this university gave a unique dimension to its undergraduate training.




This university offers a wide range of courses catering the demands of the students. The various departments at the university are:

  1. Department of Chemistry
  2. Department of Geography
  3. Department of Physics
  4. Department of Statistics
  5. Department of Geology
  6. Department of Economics
  7. Department of Mathematics
  8. Department of Bengali
  9. Department of Life Sciences
  10. Department of English
  11. Department of Hindi
  12. Department of History
  13. Department of Performing Arts
  14. Department of Philosophy
  15. Department of Political Science
  16. Department of Sociology

Facilities at the University

Situated in one of the most prime locations of Kolkata, this university is a perfect blend of old architecture and modern technology. The university also boasts of a central library with a unique collection of books, periodicals, manuscripts as well as multimedia resources built over nearly 200 years.

With its increasing demand, the University is coming up with its new campus in Rajarhat.

presidency college

International Collaborations

The university has signed international Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with two famous colleges.

1. MoU with the University of Groningen

The University of Groningen is one of the oldest Universities of the world, and has been, for several years in a row, voted the best University in the Netherlands. The two Universities signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for a commitment towards future programme of academic collaboration, and exchange of students and faculty across all departments of the University.

2. MoU with Trinity College, Dublin

Presidency signed an MoU with Trinity College, Dublin, the premier university of Ireland. This university-wide MoU for the two institutions was for student exchange, faculty exchange and research collaborations.

 Official Website here

Also read : SRM University – Overview, Courses Provided, and WHY SRM?!


%d bloggers like this: